Furious Love: Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, and the Marriage of the Century

During my short stint at University (I left after a year to work as a runner at a television production company) I studied American Literature and fell in love.

The object of my affections was not a greasy haired, pot smoking Philosophy student…rather a glamorous film star with whom I still hold an unhealthy infatuation. May I introduce to you, my first love, the exquisite Miss Elizabeth Taylor.

One of my all time favourite plays, A Streetcar Named Desire, was masterfully adapted to the screen in 1966 and starred Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton as the warring George and Martha in a heartbreaking tale of the ravaging effects of age, ego, alcohol and love on two human beings.

Of course Elizabeth and Richard acted out an even more tragic love story of their own off screen, and that fascinating story is being examined in all its gory detail in a book out this month: Furious Love by authors Sam Kashner and Nancy Schoenberger. I cannot wait to get my hands on a copy and pore over the details of the ultimate Hollywood coupling. Forget about Brangelina or TomKat, these two had more passion, glamour and intrigue in their sparring little fists!

Below, my favourite Liz picture (also featuring the legend that is David Bowie)

This entry was posted in Books, Celebrity, Film. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

